Juice Crew Chronicles

juice-crew-chronicles

OJ Girls are creative girls! Juice Crew members are busy working on earth-friendly slogans for future OJ shirts.

By SARY VALENZUELA, 13
Assumption College

Juice Crew started in the summer of 2006. It was a project of well-known clothing store, Orange Juice, who saw it as a way for tweens and teens to develop their business sense and cultivate their social skills while having fun at the same time. Every year, it chooses 24 girls out of the many applicants. I was lucky to be part of the summer program two years ago.

The summer internship usually jumpstarts with its signature training day. On that exciting morning, there will be games, makeovers, contests, freebies, perks, and many prizes to be won.

I remembered our own training day. As nervous as we all were to be around strangers, we all overcame our fears through focus and perseverance. We eventually managed to shine using the creativity and originality expressed in our different personalities. Strangers became friends that day. Our fashion skills were honed, and we shared a whole lot of fun. Given the privilege to choose where to work among its branches, I chose to work in Rockwell for three days, five hours per day.

Like the rest of their adult crew, we were all given free reign in the store.

This summer, I was invited by Orange Juice to once again take part in Juice Crew but this time, I have a different role. I became a Juice Crew spokesperson, telling other kids about my own experiences when I, too, was an intern for Orange Juice two summers ago. I helped supervise the activities and judged the contests held that morning. I even became an advisor to them.

As I ponder over those hours in the store, I realized that I have learned the value of teamwork, positive attitudes, discipline, and hard work, things that I need in order to be successful in life. As far as I’m concerned, the Juice Crew summer program achieved its objective because I have become one of those girls who knows how to have fun and be responsible at the same time.

Leave a comment